• PickleWho
  • Posts
  • Lifeguards save a the life of a pickleball player

Lifeguards save a the life of a pickleball player

Plus: Asia Pickleball Open 2023, Malaysia gets a ton of medals!

#baywatch

Hello, everyone! This is Picklewho, the #1 website for pickleball content and daily excuses to avoid parties. Today’s advice is “hey, I won’t make it today, I have a really bad case of smallpox. Hope you understand”.

Without further ado, here’s the news!

  • Lifeguards save a player's life in the middle of a game.

  • Asia Pickleball Open 2023: Malaysia gets a ton of medals!

  • The Pickleball Slam is finally over… And we have a winner.

Lifeguards save pickleball player

A pickleball match in St. Petersburg, Florida, was interrupted mid-game when a player’s heart also kinda interrupted itself. Luckily, the player survived thanks to the quick response of a lifeguard who was close and able. The hero’s name? David Hasselhoff. Ok, nope. His name is Ozzy Figueroa, and he happened to have an automated external defibrillator on hand (as one does?), and immediately saved the player’s life with it. An automated external defibrillator has to be the most unexpected device to have on hand in 2023, right next to a BlackBerry.

We don’t know how the game ended, but if it was me, I’d give the win to the player who almost gave his life for the sport. That’s fair play!

Malaysia takes the win in the Asian Open!

The Asia Pickleball Open 2023, one of the biggest events of the year, clearly shows how popular the sport has become. The event saw players from Thailand, Malaysia, China and even…Austria? I failed Geography in high school, but I still know that’s not in Asia. It’s in South America, duh.

The Malaysia team, composed of 46 players (!!) won the event after scoring three golds, two silvers, and four bronzes in the Singles, Doubles, and Mixed Doubles Divisions. Now, I want to see an intercontinental match between Malaysia and the U.S. Who’s with me? And who lends me the money to buy a ticket? Or who gives me a better job position? That works too.

The Pickleball Slam has a winner

With a $1 million prize, Andre Agassi’s comeback after almost two decades, and John McEnroe’s trash-talk and daily tantrums, the Pickleball Slam was the event we were all expecting

The winners of the night were Andre Agassi and Andy Rodrick, defeating the McEnroe-Chang team 21-15, 21-23, 12-10. I don’t know about you, but I’m happy they were the winners… Just imagine McEnroe winning the $1 million after trash-talking the whole sport a few days ago.

Just like my ex’s bot text’s every day, “I’m not ready to forgive”.

You might also like: